Don't Be Misled by The Car Accident Laws in Florida
There are a number of car accident laws in Florida that you may need to be informed about. There are some laws that are unique to Florida, but most of the laws are similar to those that are found in the other 49 states. All those who operate a vehicle in Florida are requried to have insurance. This is one of the fundamental laws that individuals need to understand. It is particularly important in Florida being a no fault state for car accidents which is defined below. It is simply one of the options that you need to be prepared for should you own and operate a vehicle in the state. Make sure that you understand the laws as it pertains to operating a vehicle, and responsibility in accidents.
One of the things that it is important to note is that Florida is a no fault state. In other words, individuals who have been injured in an accident in the state must first turn to their own insurance company for coverage. The no fault laws in Florida are pretty extensive, and only those accidents that result in a serious condition or injury can result in settlement outside the no fault laws. This is important to understand about the car accident laws and how they work.
Florida uses a comparative law rule when determining damages for an accident thus if you were found 25 percent at fault in an accident, you would receive 75 percent of the damages in a law suit. Any further questions about accident law in Florida can be addressed to your attorney should you decide to sue for damages. Make sure to have proper representation if you have been seriously injured in a Florida car accident case.
In Florida, the statute of limitations on an accident case is 4 years however again, it must be noted that only individuals who have suffered serious bodily injury can file lawsuits. This is one of the items to note.